The Chapman Prize

Chapman Award logo2018 is the first year with the Chapman Prize in the Council's Awards portfolio. Established through the Daniel and Barbara Chapman Trust, the Chapman Prize recognizes and honors the efforts and achievements of charitable individuals and charitable organizations who make significant contributions to society. Between $80,000-$100,000 will be awarded each year.

The award will focus on a different theme each year, starting with Arts & Culture in 2018. Later years will focus on Economic Prosperity, Educational Success and Health & Wellness.

2018 nominees should include individuals or organizations that have contributed significantly to the improvement of cultural life and/or significantly aided the growth and availability of the arts in the United States. By way of example, contributions may include programs bringing arts to underserved communities and populations, programs creating opportunities for the arts and artists to thrive, and/or programs that use the arts to build bridges and create partnerships.

Nomination Process

In order to nominate someone for the Chapman Award, nominators must:

  • Complete the online nomination form.
  • Upload a letter of support from either a community member or organization impacted by the nominee's charitable works.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Nominees must be either a U.S. citizen, foundation or nonprofit;
  • Nominees must have been conducting charitable work for at least three years;
  • Individual or organization must be nominated by a Council member, although Council membership is not required to win;
  • All entries must include a letter of support from either a community member or organization impacted by the nominee's charitable works.

Award Criteria

Successful nominations will describe the following:

  • Populations served;
  • Extraordinary contributions towards betterment in the selected area;
  • Proven record of achievement;
  • Demonstrated impact;
  • Potential for long term change in the award focus area.

Benefits for Award Winners

  • The Council will honor award winners in a special ceremony each year.
  • The award winner will gain additional recognition through a profile on the Council's website and blog and potentially through Council-led programming.
  • The Council will issue a press release, which the awardee's organization can use to announce the honor to their community, donors, and other stakeholders.
  • The award winner will receive a cash prize between $80,000 and $100,000.