New Members Join Council on Foundations Board

Elections Held at Annual Conference
Thursday, May 3, 2012
Arlington, VA

The Council on Foundations elected three new members to its board of directors on April 30, during the 2012 Annual Conference in Los Angeles. 

“We welcome these leaders to the Council’s board and look forward to working with them in the years ahead. Each of them represents the tremendous passion and dedication of the philanthropic sector,” said Interim President and CEO Jeff Clarke. “To serve and lead as a relevant membership association, the Council must reflect the passion of its members. These newly elected directors represent diverse perspectives and will enable the Council to provide its members with the leadership and service needed to strengthen communities in impactful ways nationally and globally.”

New board members elected to serve a three-year term are Eugene W. Cochrane Jr., president, The Duke Endowment; Linda P. Evans, president and CEO, The Meadows Foundation;  and Javier Alberto Soto, president and CEO, The Miami Foundation. Several current board members also were re-elected for a three-year term: Akhtar Badshah, senior director of global community affairs, Microsoft; Terry Mazany, president and CEO, The Chicago Community Trust; and Chet Tchozewski, board member, Global Greengrants Fund. Wenda Weekes Moore, trustee, W.K. Kellogg Foundation, was re-elected for a two-year term.

The newly elected officers are Kevin Murphy, president, Berks County Community Foundation (chair); Sherry Magill, president, Jessie Ball duPont Fund (vice chair); and Badshah (secretary). They join Will Ginsberg, president and CEO, Community Foundation for Greater New Haven, who serves as treasurer.