Council Awards Programs

Council Awards Logo

The Council on Foundations Awards Program was established to recognize excellence in philanthropy and honor exemplary leaders for their dedication to exploring creative ways to advance the common good and to finding solutions for complex issues. 

The Council's Awards Program has included four distinct awards that recognize excellence in philanthropy: the Distinguished Service Award, the Robert W. Scrivner Award for Creative Grantmaking, the Wilmer Shields Rich Award for Excellence in Communications and the newest addition, the Chapman Prize.

As the world of philanthropy evolves, we find ourselves at an institutional crossroads. Today, strong philanthropic support organizations are pushing the field forward to do more good for more people. With the arrival of our new President and CEO, Kathleen Enright, the Council is reimagining how we define and communicate our core identity and purpose, and that includes rethinking our Awards Program. Therefore, in 2019, the Council will only be administering the Chapman Prize.

The Chapman Prize

Chapman Prize Logo

This is the second year the Council has administered the Chapman Prize. Established through the Daniel and Barbara Chapman Trust, the Chapman Prize recognizes and honors the efforts and achievements of individuals and organizations who make significant contributions to society. Award winners will receive between $80,000 and $100,000.

2018 Council Awards

Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award Logo

The Distinguished Service Award, philanthropy’s highest honor, celebrates a visionary leader who inspires and embodies the qualities that define excellence in philanthropy, including commitment, courage, entrepreneurship, and impact. Previous winners have been noted philanthropic leaders who have both mobilized and unified people and institutions within communities to produce tangible results to improve people's lives and raise the capacity of others to advance the common good. 

2018 Honoree

Stephen Heintz

Stephen Heintz
Rockefeller Brothers Fund

Robert W. Scrivner Award for Creative Grantmaking

Robert W. Scrivner Award Logo

The Scrivner Award was established in 1984 in honor of the creative legacy of the late Robert Winston Scrivner, former staff associate of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund and the first executive director of the Rockefeller Family Fund. Friends and colleagues of Scrivner established the award to honor outstanding creativity. It honors an innovative grantmaker who, with a combination of vision, principle, and personal commitment, is making a critical difference in a creative way. 

2018 Honoree

Brenna Gould

Brennan Gould
President & CEO
Charlottesville Area Community Foundation

Wilmer Shields Rich Award

Wilmer Shields Rich Logo

The Wilmer Shields Rich Award for Excellence in Communications spotlights the communications strategies of foundations and corporate giving programs. Created in 1984 and named in honor of the first executive director of the National Council on Community Foundations (now the Council on Foundations), the award is bestowed on an organization that has creatively and effectively implemented strategic communications to further its mission and goals and has provided models of excellence to the field of philanthropy. 

2018 Honoree

Robin Brule

Robin Brulé
Executive Director
Nusenda Credit Union Foundation

The Council would like to thank our Awards Partners:

David & Lucile Packard Foundation logoRockefeller Philanthropy Advisors LogoFord Foundatin logoCarnegie Logo